1. Travel

Tampa Bay Area Neighborhoods


The Greater Tampa Bay Region is made up of six counties, including Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota. Each county has a mixture of cities, towns and unincorporated communities. The combined population for the region is over 3.3 million, with individual communities ranging from a population of 12 in the city of Weeki Wachee, Hernando County; to more than 335,000 in the city of Tampa, Hillsborough County.
  1. Hernando County Communities
  2. Hillsborough County Communities
  3. Manatee County Communities
  4. Pinellas County Communities
  5. Sarasota County Communities

Hernando County Communities

Hernando County is the northernmost county in the Greater Tampa Bay Region. As of 2006, Hernando had an estimated population of more than 165,000. The city of Brooksville serves as the county seat.

Hillsborough County Communities

Hillsborough County is at the center of the Greater Tampa Bay Region. As of 2007, the county's population was estimated at 1,204,770, making it the fourth most populous county in Florida. The county was officially organized by legislative act in 1834. Today, it includes the incorporated cities of Tampa, Temple Terrace and Plant City. Tampa serves as the county seat.

Manatee County Communities

Manatee County, located south of Hillsborough and Pinellas counties in the Greater Tampa Bay Region, had an estimated population of 315,108 in 2007. Its county seat is the city of Bradenton. Manatee County is known for sugar white beaches along its 150 miles of coastline and is home to Anna Maria Island, Longboat Key, Bradenton and Lakewood Ranch.

Pinellas County Communities

Pinellas County is found south of Pasco County and west of Hillsborough County in the Greater Tampa Bay Region. The city of Clearwater serves as its county seat, and its largest city is St. Petersburg. As of 2006, the estimated population of Pinellas was 924,413. Pinellas is home to some of America's top beaches, including Caladesi Island State Park and Fort De Soto County Park.

Sarasota County Communities

Sarasota County is the southernmost county associated with the Greater Tampa Bay Region. As of 2005, the county's estimated population was 366,256. Its county seat is the city of Sarasota. Visitors will find miles of pristine beaches; beautiful natural settings scattered through city, county and state parks; a wealth of cultural opportunities and plenty of shopping opportunities.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.